Wordstalker Wednesday

Wordstalker Wednesday, April 23rd (Okay, Thursday)

Yeah, I’m behind. No excuses (AWP! Got sick! Life events!), but I will make it up to you with a list of outstanding links and my favorite writing-to song of all time.

RIGHT?! You’re welcome for your new bestseller you were just inspired to pen.

Okay. Let’s catch up on the goodness.

NEW WORK!

The more empathetic writing I read, the more at peace I feel with this world. A fine example in the Seattle Met: , The Brief, Extraordinary Life of Cody Spafford by Allecia Vermillion

Cleaving, cleansing heartbreak via Whiskeypaper with Mr. Wimbledon, Jared Yates Sexton

So I love “The Royals” (WHAT?) but I can’t get over the milquetoast protagonist. This is so much useful, insightful information as to why: 5 Problems with the Humble Protagonist at Lit Reactor, Susan DeFreitas

I am a creeper lurker fan of Courtney Maum, and her abundant godsend of honesty is why: Why Being a Debut Author Isn’t Exactly a Dream Come True at BuzzFeed Books, Courtney Maum

AWP needs to be a safe space for everyone: Color in AW(hite) Place on Side B, Vanessa Martir

The truthiest of truthiness: Subway Sucks on The Concourse, Leslie Horn

I was silent-sobbing on the plane to Minneapolis while reading “The Enchanted” by Rene Denfeld, and I just finished reading Angela Flournoy’s debut novel, so hearing the both of them plus Cari Luna is a super fabulous convergence sundae: Late Night Debut

Lockjaw Magazine has been running a Choose Your Own Adventure with a new set of writers each week carrying on the story. Catch up with the epic tale! CYOA on Lockjaw Magazine

SUBMIT OR DIE!

The Offing is the coolest kid on the block, and they’re accepting Dead Letter Office submissions

Writing contest submissions open with Alternating Current

Cactus Heart Press just opened submissions for a BODIES-themed issue

Lockjaw Magazine wants ALL THE THINGS

Be Electric Literature’s Recommended Reading

I don’t think I’m supposed to still like that Hozier song.

xoxo

